💖21 days until 21💖 An Introduction and Day 1

When I was younger I would watch those older than me from afar. Watch them sing, twirl, and dance all night long. Cakes were cut, champagne bottles were popped, people cheered, confetti filled the air, and as it fell, it fell on me. I was too young to join them, too young to understand… or so they thought.

I always had a feeling there was that one birthday that was that tiny bit more special than the others. They weren’t the same, and I noticed. I soon discovered that it was a 21st birthday.

From the moment I realised a 21st birthday was a birthday that was different to the others- more special, I made a promise to myself that If I ever had a 21st, I would make it special.

Years passed, and now my 21st is around the corner, but how was I going to make it special, truly special ? How was I going to do something different to what other people have done? How  was I going to keep that promise I made myself all those years ago?

Well……

WELCOME……. TO

 21 DAYS UNTIL 21 

 

A few months ago, I came up with a challenge called – 21 days until 21.

What it entails is me doing things I have loved during my childhood, whilst I was a teenager, and things I currently love, for 21 days – from today up until my 21st birthday.

My reasons for this challenge are:

  1. In my opinion a 21st birthday is a huge milestone, and extremely special, which is why I believe something extra special should be prepared for it, something unique, something like this.
  2. I tend to select various themes, and then integrate them into one big theme. That generally turns into one big mess, so what I have decided to do, is select one theme for my party, and then for nearly a month do things I love, and have days, which could have possibly been themes. For example, I love One Direction. For one of the 21 days, I could possibly have a 1D day. What that would involve is firstly me putting on one of their shirts and getting ready (using their makeup, perfume, accessories,etc), then listening to their music all day, watching their movies, reading their books, playing their games, getting 100% in their quizzes (hopefully :P), looking through their concert photos (I took), the Madame Tussaud’s photos I took with their wax figures, baking cupcakes and putting one d related things as toppers. Basically a day filed with One Direction related things.
  3. I feel that a lot of people loose themselves in the planning process, and forget to have fun. They continuously stress out, and worry about how everything will turn out. Once the night arrives, they are still stressing. Stressing about if there is enough food, enough drinks, if people are enjoying themselves. They usually take on the role of an event planner or the staff instead of having fun! I made that mistake with my 18th birthday. It wasn’t as enjoyable for me, because I was constantly worrying. I learnt from that mistake, and this time around, I will not be worrying about what other people think. If they don’t like it, i’m sorry to say, but there’s the door. This is my night, and I do not want worrying/stressing to ruin it.  Now, with all that said, I decided to do this challenge, so that whilst I am planning, I am also having a lot of fun.

 

What I have decided to do is create a countdown calendar with 21 envelopes on it. Inside each envelope there is a card, and on the card it tells me what day it is. It could be something as big as a 1D day, or something quieter, such as a reading day, or drawing day. The card also has a task on it, and on the back a challenge.

Shall we begin ?

 

DAY 1 

 

 

 

 


 DAY 1 – Religion, Language, Family

The three most important things in my life are: My religion, my language/culture, and my family. For day 1, I decided to do religion related things, only speak in Serbian (the challenge for the day as well), and to spend the day with my family.


I was really excited that my nephews and sister in law  came over! We had a really fun FAMILY day ❤




 

After I had  a lot of fun with my nephews, my sister in law and I decided to watch a Disney movie (we are HUGE fans). It was between Mulan and Pocahontas – two of the disney movies we haven’t seen in a long time.

 

 

and we went with MULAN 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 10.59.39 am

 

 

I definitely know what song I want to learn on the viola next – Reflection 🙂

 

I absolutely love reflection.

 

 

 

RELIGION

I looked through some of my childhood religious prayer books and items, and I found a drawing of Saint Nicholas that I drew when I was 8 🙂


I began reading the first book out of the four new books I bought about the Orthodox Faith 🙂

A miniature incense burner I received from a deacon, who made it himself. A very talented man!

A book about the lives of Saints I received at my Russian School graduation 🙂

A book about Easter (In Serbian) I received when I was younger

A bag my brother bought at a Russian monastery in Russia, for me 🙂

My favourite Icon. The Russian Royal Family – The Romanovs ❤

After going through religious items from my childhood, and reading religious books, I went outside to relax with my parents. The wind was blowing, we were drinking coffee and eating cakes. And we had a good old chat! Did I mention the frangipani tree looked amazing ❤ I love frangipanis – my favourite flowers 🙂

 

IMG_5477 IMG_5466 IMG_5471 IMG_5473 IMG_5468

IMG_5453

We then went inside, and had a delicious dinner. Following the dinner, my mum and I decided to watch Sleeping beauty, another one of our favourite disney movies 🙂


IMG_5627IMG_5622 IMG_5623 IMG_5621

IMG_5615
Once Upon A Dream, is honestly my favourite disney song. I LOVE the different versions of it.

 

 

 

 

 

It was such a fun and relaxing day. I loved relaxing, and spending time with my amazing family ❤️

 

For more 21 days until 21 related things, follow me on insta, twitter, or here 🙂

💖WELCOME TO 21 days until 21 💖 ! I'm so excited to be doing this. A few months ago I came up with the idea to create a countdown / lead up to my 21st birthday (I will be explains this in my blog tomorrow – link in bio). Each day, for 21 days I will be doing things I have loved throughout my life – from childhood up until now. Today was day one – Religion, language and family. The three most important things to me. Inside each envelope there is a card with a task and challenge on it. The challenge today was to speak Serbian with my family without inserting an English word here and there. Strictly Serbian! It went….. Ok 🙊 lets just say my nephew, a 3 year old, tricked me haha. I had so much fun with my family today, and I completed all the tasks ! A truly incredible day. I cannot wait until day 2 ❤️ #21daysuntil21 #21countdown #21 #birthday #countdown #celebration #family #religion #language #serbian #fun #day #summer #2015

A post shared by Kristina 💃🏻 (@fangirl_kiki) on

Lots of Love,

 

Kiki xx

Leave a Reply

