A Night In Paris’ Disneyland – My 21st

 

“There is a place. Like no place on Earth. A land full of wonder, mystery, and danger! Some say to survive it: You need to be as mad as a hatter”. – Mad Hatter.

Usually one needs a minimum of six months to plan a party, I had two weeks. For what I had planned I definitely needed to be as mad as a hatter, or at least have my very own hatter. I was blessed with an incredible friend, one who I call my brother. He was my right hand, he was my hatter – my mad hatter.

If it wasn’t for my hatter, I wouldn’t have completed half the tasks I set out to complete. You know who you are. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I knew what my theme would be a few months ago, but I had solely two weeks after the end of my second semester and amidst my Christmas planning to buy what I needed, and to discuss some crucial details with the event coordinator.

Choosing my theme took a while, because I was attempting to choose between two themes. A theme I always believed I wanted for a 21st (Parisian theme) and a theme that I truly loved (Disney). People were telling me that I couldn’t have both, I wanted to prove them wrong….. and I did!

It hit me one night, and I jumped out of bed. I love Paris. I love Disney. Paris has a Disneyland. I decided there and then. My theme would be – A night in Paris’ Disneyland. 

The morning of my birthday party arrived, and I couldn’t have been more excited. I had a Parisian/Cinderella themed morning. A Cinderella backdrop in the living room, a crown, a French breakfast, a foot spa and Madeline (my favourite childhood (French) show). I relaxed all morning, and then went to the hairdressers in the afternoon. When my hairstyle was complete I went to the function centre to set up a few things for the night. I had two hours to set up everything, and even though I had my mad hatter helping me, it unfortunately was not enough time, and I could not display and set up everything I had originally planned to. #Disappointed

Guests started to arrive, so I ran downstairs, hid in the bathroom and started to get ready. Before I tell you what I wore, I’ll let you know the attire options. 1. A disney character, 2. A disney inspired look, 3. Dress as the Parisian’s do, and 4. Formal.

I chose to dress up as a disney character! Guess who 🙂

 

 

Well for those of you that know me really well, you’ll know that my favourite Disney princess is Cinderella. As soon as I saw the live action movie in 2015, I wanted the costume. So I bought it !

 

I had two hosts – the Mad hatter and Pocahontas. They introduced me, and I walked in to Taylor Swift’s “Wonderland”. They sat me down and sang/ acted out “Be our Guest” from the movie Beauty and the Beast.

 

I had various Disney themed sections in the room: An Alice in Wonderland section with four backdrops, a Pixie Hollow section a Little Mermaid section and an Aladdin themed signing table section. The table settings leaned towards the formal side. I had a candelabra and Eiffel Tower centrepiece, Eiffel Tower place cards and a sign that said Bon appetit. 

 

 

We ate, we sang, we danced. I blew out my candles on my Parisian themed cake, struggled with the sparkles, and was forced to speak! Just when I thought I left speeches behind at uni, there I was giving another one, hoping to God that I did not leave anyone out. If I did, I truly apologise.

Overall, it was a truly memorable night for me. I found myself in my very own Wonderland. To all my wonderful friends and family – Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your kindness. As Taylor Swift says , there are a million things you all could be doing on your Saturday night, but instead of doing all those other things you chose to spend your Saturday night with me. You chose to share my milestone with me. For that I will forever be grateful. Thank you for your endless love and support. I am so lucky to know each and every single one of you.

 

 

It was a wonderful night, and once it finished I decided that it wouldn’t solely be a Disney themed birthday, it would be a Disney themed year.

 

WELCOME TO MY WONDERLAND!

 

 

Below I have attached several photos from my 21st. Let me know what you think. Would you have chosen either of these themes? Would you have selected two themes? Share your thoughts below.

Lots of Love,

K

 

 

Breakfast, foot spa and Madeline. A nice relaxing morning 🙂 

 

 

 

 

Getting ready!

 

A bit of everything! 

 

 

 

I have no idea how I danced to NUTBUSH in that dress ahahah 

I still have no idea how I did it in that dress ahaha NUTBUSH 💁🏼 #nutbush #dance #birthday #party #21st #21

A post shared by 🌺Kiki 🌺 (@kristina_mrakic) on

 

 

I was supposed to change into a “disney inspired” outfit later that evening, but no one would allow me to. They loved my costume way too much. This is the outfit I was supposed to wear whilst cutting my cake – A cinderella inspired look.

 

IMG_3026.JPG

 

 

The photo that sums the night up…..

 

12592237_10153956921768606_331865298279174153_n

Leave a Reply

